Bill Webb conducted the January meeting of the National Association of Retired Veteran Railway Employees, with Shannon Petitt giving the invocation and Bill Wiggins leading the flag salute. Sandy Stuart read the minutes and gave the treasurer’s report, while Clarice March, membership chairman, gave an accounting of current renewed membership for 2013.

January birthday honorees were Bob Hedrick, Barbara Branch, Shirley McGavock and LuAlyce Wiggins. Those celebrating wedding anniversaries are Bill and LuAlyce Wiggins, 28 years, Ernie and Virginia Houska, 31 years, Shirley and Jim McGavock, 48 years, and Leon and Carrol Mason, 59 years.

A list of 41 names of members and relatives were read from the Memorial List of those who passed away in 2012.

Guest speaker was Canadian County Sheriff Randall Edwards. He discussed issues through the past four years with an eye on what he and his office will work on during the coming four years. He noted there is an officer on duty at all eight school locations to monitor school truancy, an officer working on cyber prevention which includes pornography, child abuse, drug task force, fraud, and many new programs in the offing.

John Higdon reported on the constant rise in ridership on the Heartland Flyer.

Door prize winners were Bill Wiggins, Carol Conner, Marvin Ramsey and Carl Ivey.

Others attending were Barbara Higdon, Charlie Webster, Leon Mason, Carrol Mason, Betty Tucker, Helen Anderson, Virginia Houska, Ernie Houska, Kenneth Bright, Fred Jones, Shirley Jones, Lanny Keller, Bill Campbell, Peggy Campbell, Lillie Urton Hines, Clyde Urton, Jack March, Mike Conner, Faye Mauldin, Darrell Nelson, L.J. Brungardt, Thomas Cash, Barbara Branch, Jeanne Ramsey and Jackie George.

Next meeting will be held at 10:30 a.m. Feb. 4 at Redlands Community College with guest speaker, Patty LeBarthe from the State Attorney General’s Office.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login